This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Ecuador

Ecuador is made up of 24 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Ecuador. Information on all primary administrative regions in Ecuador.

Please note that unfortunately population data are not available for all regions in Ecuador.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Ecuador alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Ecuador

There are 24 regions in Ecuador in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Ecuador
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Guayas Provincia del Guayas1.3,645,483Guayaquil Guayaquil1,952,029
Pichincha Provincia de Pichincha2.2,576,287Quito Quito1,399,814
Azuay Provincia del Azuay3.712,127Cuenca Cuenca276,964
Santo Domingo de los Tsachilas Provincia de Santo Domingo de los Tsáchilas4.368,013Santo Domingo de los Colorados Santo Domingo de los Colorados200,421
El Oro Provincia de El Oro5.600,659Machala Machala198,123
Manabi Provincia de Manabí6.-Portoviejo Portoviejo170,326
Esmeraldas Provincia de Esmeraldas7.534,092Esmeraldas Esmeraldas165,216
Tungurahua Provincia del Tungurahua8.581,389Ambato Ambato154,369
Imbabura Provincia de Imbabura9.398,244Ibarra Ibarra132,977
Chimborazo Provincia del Chimborazo10.458,581Riobamba Riobamba124,478
Loja Provincia de Loja11.-Loja Loja117,796
Carchi Provincia del Carchi12.164,524Tulcan Tulcán86,498
Los Rios Provincia de Los Ríos13.778,115Babahoyo Babahoyo76,279
Cotopaxi Provincia de Cotopaxi14.409,205Latacunga Latacunga51,717
Orellana Provincia de Francisco de Orellana15.136,396Puerto Francisco de Orellana Puerto Francisco de Orellana48,144
Santa Elena Provincia de Santa Elena16.308,693Santa Elena Santa Elena42,214
Canar Provincia del Cañar17.58,185Azogues Azogues34,877
Pastaza Provincia del Pastaza18.83,933Puyo Puyo24,881
Sucumbios Provincia de Sucumbíos19.176,472Nueva Loja Nueva Loja24,211
Morona-Santiago Provincia de Morona-Santiago20.147,940Macas Macas23,687
Bolivar Provincia de Bolívar21.183,641Guaranda Guaranda22,199
Napo Provincia de Napo22.103,697Tena Tena17,172
Zamora-Chinchipe Provincia de Zamora-Chinchipe23.91,376Zamora Zamora15,276
Galapagos Provincia de Galápagos24.25,124Puerto Baquerizo Moreno Puerto Baquerizo Moreno4,214